Dreams of Warmer Weather

With the weather quickly getting cold, I find myself thinking more and more about those warm summer days. Don’t get me wrong – I love fall, but there’s something about having to break out a jacket that makes me miss those summer adventures. When I think about my favourite parts of this past summer, there’s one weekend in particular that sticks out to me. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to tag along with my boyfriend and his family one weekend when they rented out a cottage in Wiarton, Ontario. I absolutely love hiking, so we made sure we made the most of the weekend and went on as many as possible. On the drive up on Saturday, we stopped at Inglis Falls to hike and see the waterfall. Me being the klutz that I am, fell in the water as we were hiking up the waterfall, but the view was definitely worth having wet running shoes for the rest of the day.

14054204_10157342010880243_3074912181980481934_n

I thought this view was beautiful, but I had no idea what I was in store for at the end of the trip. The cottage was right on Georgian Bay, and we spent the majority of the weekend in the clear (but freezing) water, with lots of breaks for roasted marshmallows and hot dogs. On Sunday afternoon, we went up for a hike to what’s called “Spirit Rock.” Legend says that a young woman fell in love with an enemy of her tribe, and as a result was disowned and jumped to her death from the massive cliff. As we reached the top of the hike we got to the ruins of the McNeill Estate, which was the home of a Federal member of Parliament from 1881-1901, Alexander McNeill. I left my phone at the cottage while we went on this hike, so I wasn’t able to take any photos – sorry guys!

We had originally planned to head home Monday morning, but instead decided to wake up at the crack of dawn and head to Cyprus Lake for one last hike, and I couldn’t be happier that we did.

14022247_10157342010870243_4978526191286611581_n

As soon as we got there I didn’t want to leave, I couldn’t believe how beautiful the area was. The water was so blue and so clear, I felt like I was down south instead of in Ontario.

14079862_10157342010600243_5218185338857382380_n

We hiked along and climbed down into the grotto, where some brave souls were actually swimming through a small underground tunnel … I was not one of them. At the end of the hike, we found the perfect spot to hang out and swim for a few hours – the perfect end to a perfect trip. 

14051735_10157342010665243_6958170267424107222_n

Looking at these photos again, it still blows my mind that something this beautiful has been this close to me my whole life – can we just fast forward to next summer please?

Leave a Reply

