Oma’s Apple Cake

If there’s one thing that I enjoy more than hiking and the outdoors, it’s food. I absolutely love to eat, but what I love even more is actually baking and cooking. I bake a fair amount throughout the year, but I find that as the weather gets colder I tend to bake more and more. Although I consider myself to be a pretty good baker, I can’t even compare myself to my Oma. Aside from being the sweetest woman in the world, my Oma is also an amazing baker. She has a number of dishes that she brings every time our family gets together, one of which is her apple cake. As she gets older, its becoming harder and harder for her to stand for long periods of time to bake, so she has finally passed on the recipe to my mom and I. Last night was the first time I had baked the cake on my own, and I was very satisfied with the outcome!

15027600_10157726118885243_4177697477516017581_n

I love desserts, but I’ve never really been one to enjoy cakes that have fruits in them – with the exception of this cake. I may or may not have eaten the piece pictured above for breakfast this morning – it has apples in it so it’s healthy, right? It might not be the prettiest cake in the world but it’s absolutely delicious, and I am happy to share the recipe so that you can all hopefully enjoy it with your families as well!

10616002_10157726118700243_4731256315793177266_n

Ingredients

  • 3 large Macintosh apples, sliced

For the Crust:

  • ½ cup softened butter
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup all purpose flour

For the filling:

  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 package of vanilla sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Mix together the softened butter and sugar. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix again. Add flour and mix together well.
  3. Pour crust into a greased, spring-loaded pan and bake for 15 minutes, until edges are golden browned.
  4. Peel the apples and cut into thin slices.
  5. Once crust is done, place all of the apple slices along the crust in a spiral pattern. Sprinkle a little sugar over top.
  6. While crust is baking, beat together beaten eggs, sugar, sour cream, and vanilla sugar with a hand mixer.
  7. Gently pour filling over apples until they are covered.
  8. Put in oven and bake for 45 minutes. Test with a toothpick to make sure it comes out clean.
  9. Remove from the oven and enjoy!

14993369_10157726118675243_3558020234697717595_n

Leave a Reply

