Streetsville’s Christmas in the Village

Last weekend, I went to the Christmas Market in Toronto’s Distillery District and I’ve been in the Christmas spirit ever since. This was only the second time I had been to the Toronto Christmas Market and unfortunately the weather was less than ideal and my feet ended up soaked the entire time. (Note to self: Stop buying cheap boots). But aside from that, I still had a great time taking in all the Christmas decorations and trying to find unique gifts for my family and friends. Piece of advice – if you’ve never been and are planning on going, make sure you go in the evening. Although it’s busier at night, it’s absolutely worth it because it looks ever prettier when it’s all lit up. The rain prevented me from getting any photos this year (I’m extremely cautious with my technology now … I’ve broken one too many phones over the years), but here’s a video that shows just how pretty the lights are.

Because of how much I enjoyed the Christmas Market downtown, you could say I got a little excited when I found out there was going to be one in Streetsville for the first time this year. I grew up in Mississauga, and Streetsville is one of my favourite neighbourhoods within it so my friends and I decided to check out the Market last night. It was held in Streetsvilles’ main square which was renovated just last year and was open from 2:00 pm to 9:00 pm, but we decided to go around 6:00 pm because food, drinks and entertainment didn’t start until 5:00 pm.

15232097_10157824781360243_546915657337123238_n 15181174_10157824781380243_973525713383158154_n

It was pretty cold outside, so the first thing we did once we got there was make our way to the drink table so we could get our hands on some mulled wine. Although it wasn’t as good as the mulled wine you can get downtown (There were no cinnamon sticks!), it still did the trick and warmed us right up. Like I said, this was the first year this market had taken place but I’m sure as the years go by the drinks will improve. We then did a lap of the market which was all lit up with beautiful Christmas lights. 15220116_10157824781415243_4165207065547003994_n

Since the market is just set up in the main square, it’s pretty small and so we only spent around an hour in there. The shops in the square were all open (except Murphy’s – just a little too cold out for ice cream), and there were around 10 vendor tents set up which were all selling Christmas gifts. There was also two food trucks set up, one of which was selling Beavertails and was very, veryyyy hard to resist. There was live music for entertainment and during the hour that we were there, there was one man belting out Christmas songs on stage and he was absolutely killing it. 15202540_10157824781460243_6565925892906043219_n

It was also only held on Saturday, but I’m hoping that in the coming years it will become more popular and will be held over more than one weekend. If you’re a far drive away, I would suggest making the trip to the market downtown instead as it is bigger and you can spend more time there. But, I’d definitely recommend the Streetsville Christmas Market to anyone who lives in the area and loves Christmas like me!

Leave a Reply

