Peanut Butter Banana Protein Smoothie

It’s finally Friday! And having Friday’s off from school means that my weekend starts early, and I could not be happier. Juggling eight courses at school makes for a very busy and stressful week, so I plan to take full advantage of the weekend and treat myself with a little relaxation.

Another thing I decided to treat myself with … my favourite smoothie ever for lunch. I lived on residence for my first year when I went to the University of Guelph, and took full advantage of all the great food options that were on campus. One of my favourite things to buy was a peanut butter and banana protein smoothie from the cafe right by my residence building – my roommate and I were absolutely obsessed with them.

I’m embarrassed to say, but after I graduated one of the things I missed most about Guelph was those smoothies. So, I decided to try and recreate it at home and develop my own recipe. It took me a while, but I finally perfected it! Now anytime I want a treat without feeling guilty about being unhealthy, this smoothie is my go-to.

That being said, I do consider it a treat because it is considerably higher in calories than the strawberry banana smoothie recipe I posted a couple of weeks ago. In total it is 510 calories, which is mostly because of the high calorie content in the peanut butter and milk. But, you can always swap out regular milk for almond milk which will significantly lower the calories. Hope you all enjoy!

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

16473437_10158188189660243_556919899085413723_n

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup plain 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 banana, sliced and frozen (It is important that the banana is frozen since there is no ice in this recipe!)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I prefer Kaizen’s All Natural Whey Protein)
  • 1 cup milk of your choice

16299511_10158188189665243_4485446549475086983_n

Directions

  1. Put Greek yogurt, peanut butter, and cinnamon into blender.
  2. Throw in one banana that has been previously sliced and frozen.
  3. Add protein powder and milk.
  4. Blend and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

