Homemade Sushi

This past weekend, my boyfriend and I attempted to make homemade sushi and I am happy to say it turned out great. I will be the first to admit that I am absolutely addicted to sushi, and I’m not even a little bit ashamed. I remember a few years ago it seemed like everyone I knew all of a sudden loved sushi and was always going out to enjoy some, but I never went because I was convinced that sushi was not something I could ever enjoy. At this point, I had only eaten in once in my life and that was when we had to make it ourselves in my food and nutrition class in grade 12. Let’s just say I wasn’t impressed, but looking back now I’m thinking that probably had something to do with the fact that none of us had any idea what we were doing making it.

16865098_10158273605590243_1321633996127899871_n

The first time I actually went out for sushi was a little over a year ago with my boyfriend, my bestfriend and a bunch of their friends from school. I was visiting in St Catharines for the weekend and after a night out at the bar everyone wanted to go out for sushi, and I figured going with would be more enjoyable than sitting at the house alone. Well, thank god I did because that is when my obsession began. I remember getting back to the house and immediately taking a nap because everything was delicious and I ate way too much, and my bestfriend made sure to make fun of me for saying sushi was gross for the longest time.

Since then, I’ve gone out for sushi more than I’d like to admit and although I enjoy it every single time, it really does take a toll on the bank account. So, this weekend my boyfriend and I figured we should attempt to make it ourselves, because if it went well then every time we got a craving we could just make it ourselves and save a lot of money! Except I’m sure we will still go out sometimes because I can’t live without cheese wontons and don’t think I could successfully make those on my own. Anyway, it ended up being a lot easier than we were expecting and we were extremely happy with how it turned out. We ended up with about six rolls, which we cut into about 40 pieces of sushi. We used shrimp, carrots, cucumber, and Japanese-style panko breadcrumbs and it was absolutely delicious, but we are planning on experimenting  next time and trying something different. So for anyone who wants to make their own sushi, here is what we did!

16832313_10158273605600243_6907861115176427860_n

Ingredients

  • Shrimp, 20 pieces
  • 1 cucumber, sliced into long, thin slices
  • 2 cups sushi rice (We used Kokuho Rose rice)
  • Nori, 6 sheets
  • Japanese-style panko breadcrumbs
  • Soy-sauce for dipping (optional)

16865045_10158273605605243_4701559414985758851_n

Directions

For sushi with rice on the outside:

  1. Lay out bamboo rolling mat and place saran wrap on top of it.
  2. Spread out enough sushi rice to cover 3/4 of the nori.*
  3. Place nori on top of the rice.
  4. At the end of the nori without any rice underneath it, place the cucumber, carrots, shrimp, and bread crumbs.
  5. Using your bamboo mat, roll the ingredients tightly together.**
  6. Once tightly rolled, remove the saran wrap and cut into pieces.
  7. Enjoy!

* This is important (as we learned the hard way) because if you cover all of the nori with rice, you will end up with massive rolls that will be very difficult to eat.

** If you would like to see a tutorial on how to roll inside-out sushi, here’s a quick video you can watch.

 

For sushi with rice on the inside

  1. Lay out bamboo mat and place nori on top of it.
  2. Spread sushi rice on 3/4 of the nori.
  3. At the end of the nori without any rice underneath it, place the cucumber, carrots, shrimp, and bread crumbs.
  4. Using your bamboo mat, roll the ingredients tightly together.
  5. Once tightly rolled, cut the roll into pieces.
  6. Enjoy!

16682018_10158273605585243_7882664856373365059_n

 

Leave a Reply

