Chocolate Chip Cookies with Walnuts and Skor Bits

In addition to going for a hike yesterday, what else did I do? Yup, that’s right, you guessed it – I baked. Now for once I can honestly say it wasn’t because I was craving something myself, but my mom had told me earlier this week that she really wanted some homemade cookies, so I told her I would make some. Chocolate chip cookies were the first thing I ever baked when I was younger, and I have been making them for as long as I can remember. But I’ve always used other peoples recipes, and although they always turned out great, something made me want to try and create my own recipe this week. So I did! The recipe could use some tweaking to perfect it, but in my opinion (and my moms) they turned out pretty well.

17022131_10158310086625243_6633232883270744113_n

The chocolate chip cookies that I have been making since I was young have always been flat, crispy and chewy. So, when deciding what type of cookies I wanted my recipe to make, I decided on a soft, taller cookie. In order to determine what type of ingredients I would need to include in my recipe to create this type of cookie, I looked to Baker Betty’s Guide on How to Create a Cookie Recipe for some help. Every chocolate chip cookie recipe I had ever made called for butter, but after reading this guide I realized that if I wanted to have a taller, soft cookie, I would need to use shortening instead. Also, I always used all-purpose flour, but for this recipe I decided to use cake flour to produce a soft cookie.

16996092_10158310086890243_4341224116088626044_n

Originally I was just planning on making a traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe, but my mom asked me to add in some extras. She loves both walnuts and Skor bits, so she asked me if I could throw those in the recipe as well. Since I was already veering away from a traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe, I decided I would also throw in some almond extract along with vanilla extract. The next time I make this recipe I will probably use a little less almond extract as I found the taste to be a little too strong, however my mom loved it. So if any of you want to try out my take on a chocolate chip cookie recipe, here it is!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 2 tbsp Skor bits

17021718_10158310086930243_4658994882802210919_n

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Beat together shortening, sugars, vanilla extract, almond extract and egg.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda and salt.
  4. Mix together the wet and dry mixtures.
  5. Add chocolate chips, walnuts and Skor bits.
  6. Roll cookie dough into balls and place on parchment paper on a baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 12 – 15 minutes, or until golden brown.
Leave a Reply

