Hiking at Mount Nemo

As you know, I’ve been attempting to live a healthier lifestyle recently. For the most part, I’ve been successful – but from my last few posts it is easy to see that I have indulged in some unhealthy foods. I’m currently on reading week, so I’ve been taking advantage of all my free time and trying to be as active as possible and work off some of those indulgences. Luckily, we’ve had some warm weather lately, so yesterday I decided to go hiking. My dad is recently retired and lives in London, so he drove down for the day and we grabbed lunch and then went to Mount Nemo in Burlington for a hike. This was one of the first trails I ever went to within Halton, and it is still one of my favourites for a number of reasons –  which I will tell you about in this post!

16999063_10158310087415243_5382625061732249212_n

Mount Nemo is located just off of Guelph Line in Burlington and provides a number of attractions that will likely please the whole family, but it is also the perfect place to go hiking on your own. The trail is absolutely beautiful and there are a number of lookouts along the way. In the spring, summer and fall, you can even rock climb! If you decide to try it out, make sure you bring all the necessary equipment with you. Here is a video from YouTube of what rock climbing at Mount Nemo is like.

There are also many caves along the trail that you can explore if you’re brave enough. I’m definitely not and stayed away from the caves as I can get pretty claustrophobic, but a lot of people have ventured into them. Just like with rock climbing, ensure you come prepared with the proper equipment.

17021573_10158310087170243_2583315673213671271_n

Although there are many attractions available at Mount Nemo, the only one I’m really interested in is hiking the trail, and as I said previously, there are a number of reasons why Nemo remains one of my favourites. There’s a ton of spots along the way that provide amazing views, and an actual lookout known as the Brock Harris lookout.

Sadly yesterday was a cloudy day, so the view wasn’t as great as it usually is. However, on a clear day the view is amazing and you can actually see the CN Tower off in the distance!

16996526_10158310087200243_4189238905863137930_n

In addition to the great views, another reason I enjoy Mount Nemo is that it is one of the easier trails within Halton, so if you’re feeling like going for a hike without tiring yourself out too much it’s a great choice. Compared to some of the other trails within Halton, Mount Nemo is fairly flat and quite short. The trail map states that the entire trail is 4.9 km and takes 2 hours and 25 minutes to complete, however yesterday it only took us about an hour and a half to complete, and we stopped frequently so I could take photos.

Compared to winter, the trail and the views are considerably prettier in the spring, summer and fall. Although, if you visit just after a snowfall it is quite breathtaking. If you want to see what it looks like throughout the different seasons and are interested in visiting, you can find more photos and the fees for daily visits and memberships on the website. I hope you all have the chance to visit Mount Nemo at some point and enjoy it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

